Gold Thread Recipients


   The annual awards recognize those individuals who, on a local and/or regional level, have given freely of

 their time and talents to best exemplify the purpose of this organization: to foster the highest standards of

excellence in the practice of the art of embroidery through an active program of education and study”

  The award's name changed in 2004.

Educator of the Year Award (1992-2003)

1992  Kay Strong, Molly Pitcher Stitchers Chapter

1993  None

1994  Mary Dick Digges

1995  Regina Walter, Washington DC Chapter

1996  None

1997  Judy Jeroy, Tidewater, VA Chapter

1998  Elizabeth Graff, Hagerstown Chapter

1999  Marjorie Jones, Eastern Shore Maryland Chapter

2000  Ruth Levy, Princeton Chapter

2001  Lorrie Nelson, Hagerstown

2002  Cathy Broderson, Tidewater Chapter

2003  Christine Folmar, Wyoming Valley Chapter

Gold Thread Award (2004- 

2004  Jean Jones, Lehigh Valley Chapter

2005  Tanis Geho (now Tanis Varcoe), Lehigh and Bucks Chapters

2006  Charlotte Froman, Colonial West Jersey Chapter

2007  Anne W. Booske, Red Rose Chapter

2008  Betty Whiting Flemming, Washington DC Chapter

2009   None

2010  Canby Robertson

2011  Carol Williams, Colonial West Jersey Chapter

2012   Betsy Morgan, Oatlands Chapter

2013   Marie Campbell, Huntingdon Chapter

2014   AliceRae Kutish, Wyoming Valley Chapter

2015   Cheryl Sharp, Washington D.C. Chapter

2016   Elizabeth Day, Colonial West Jersey

2017   Catherine Jordan, Gentle Pursuits of Richmond Chapter

2018   None

2019   Leslie Carson, Constellation Chapter

2020   Judy Herrick, Molly Pitcher Stitchers Chapter

2021   Chris Folmar, Wyoming Valley Chapter

2022   Donna Pence, Oatlands Chapter

2023   Patty Smith Gardner, Philadelphia Chapter

2024   Kathy Weigl, Molly Pitchers Stitchers Chapter


"The criteria for determining the awards include the following:


1.  The contributions to growth of embroidery education at a local and/or region level.

2.  The nature and extent of service at a local and/or region level."


From the Policy Manual:  "These awards shall recognize those outstanding members who, on a local and/or region level, best exemplify the purpose of EGA."